Reviews

Jill Longman      UK

WHALE TRAIL

Gillian And Her Husband Ralph Are Wonderful, Well-Informed Guides And Great People To Trek With

Reviewed December 4, 2016

Gilly and Ralph were our guides on the stunningly beautiful 5 day Whale Trail in de Hoop Nature Reserve we finished last week in late Nov 2016. They are both passionate, interesting and very knowledgeable about the huge range of plant, insect, bird and animal life in the differing trail habitats…and genuinely enjoy sharing their knowledge and enthusiasm with others. They are also kind, thoughtful and very good company with a sense of humour – a real bonus on any trail. Gilly is an outstanding cook and went to great lengths to look after us with delicious and plentiful food you would not think possible to provide on a 5 day trek. The whole trail experience was a joy and we would happily return for more with Gilly and Ralph as our guides.

 

MARSEA      USA

WHALE TRAIL

Great Experience

Reviewed November 26, 2016

I feel really fortunate to have had Gillan and her husband Ralph as my guides on the Whale Trail. Their thoughtfulness and knowledge and passion made it a really special experience. Gillian’s also an amazing chef — I still can’t believe we ate so well considering that she only had the most basic kitchen supplies at her disposal! She really goes out of her way to make sure everyone is having a good time and well taken care of.

I’d happily go on another hike with Gillian in the future; I hope I do!

Travelled solo in November

Communication 5/5

Knowledge 5/5

Friendliness 5/5

Resourcefulness 5/5

 

CAROL    UK

FERNKLOOF

Reviewed September 18, 2016

Gill and Ralph were very knowledgeable about the abundant flora that abounds in the Fernkloof reserve. They provided us with a tasty lunch and a tea stop for our all day excursion. They were always ready to provide us with information about what we were seeing, and answer our many questions. Thanks to Gill and Ralph, we had an excellent day and I would recommend them for your nature tour.

Traveled in September with friend

 

FIONA  Hermanus

WHALE TRAIL

Gillian and Ralph were our guides on the Whale Trail last week and I found them to be first class.

They had a good knowledge of birds,flowers etc and Gills cooking over the 5 days was really outstanding .Excellent meals for each supper and great packed lunches as well as breakfasts.Nothing was too much trouble for her at all despite me making more work by being a vegetarian.

Traveled in September with friends

 

 

JERRY ROWLES    Gauteng

FERNKLOOF with Gillian And Ralph Louw

Reviewed October 5, 2016

Gill and Ralph were superb guides in the Hermanus Fernkloof Nature Reserve, and their knowledge of the awesome flora and fauna in this area of the Western Cape was such a delight. My wife and are are avid birders in Southern Africa and to get a “lifer” on one of our our short hikes was really special, Victorin’s Warbler. They would be our choice as gudes for the world renowned “Whale Trail” in the Western Cape, without doubt.

Jerry and Val Rowles, Johannesburg

 

KOGELBERG

Reviewed October 2, 2016

JACOLYN  MOUTON  Gauteng

We started off the hike on a chilly morning, and I thought it was going to be too cold.  But as the hike progressed I realised it is actually ideal weather to do a hike in.  The trail was neat and properly marked.  There were so many different plants that it was difficult to focus just on one.  Gill took us through the tiniest flowers’ properties and history and without that, I might not have even noticed the tiniest beauties.  Ralph explained the Proteas in the most amazing way and highlighted details like sustainability and environmental impact on the life span of Proteas.  The hike took us through the fynbos and we went through a spot close to the waterfall.  This was absolutely breathtaking.  The most beautiful old trees with the stream running through it.  Gill and Ralph’s knowledge of the plants and birds were much appreciated, and they explained with much detail on any of the questions we had.  Gill also elaborated on the vast amount of frogs we came across.  Gill and Ralph are amazing guides and I would return for another hike any day.  The hike was about 8km and still it was paced so well that by the end of the hike you do not feel exhausted.  Thank you for this amazing experience!

Rod & Susan     Hermanus

Hemel-En-Aarde Valley Wine Walk

Reviewed April 23, 2018

New to the Hermanus and beautiful Overberg area, we have been very fortunate to meet up with  Guides Gillian and Ralph who are both passionate and professional in the way they present their walks and hikes. The Wine Walk was a short ‘loosener’ for us both and has wet our appetites for further hikes in order to get to know the area. Gillian and Ralph not only have a wealth of knowledge to impart, but make their excursions fun with an easy style that immediately puts  everyone at ease. A first class experince that cannot be too highly recommended.

 

Rhian   Hermanus

Guided Walk In The Kogelberg Nature Reserve Along The Palmiet River

I had the most perfect day on this wonderful hike guided by Ralph and Gill.  The area is one of outstanding beauty, but I would have missed so much to notice and understand about the flora, birds, animals and history without the Louw’s very helpful input.  Our’s was a small group of people who quickly got to know each other and enjoyed Gill and Ralph’s relaxed and friendly attitude to imparting their knowledge along the way.  We had a lot of fun and learnt a lot whilst enjoying a good healthy walk surrounded by fabulous nature.

Reviewed April 26, 2018

 

 

 

Please follow & like us :)

Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
Google+
http://africansunroad.com/reviews">
YouTube
YouTube